NCTV17 is a 501(c)3 nonprofit

Voting at District 203 Schools

At an upcoming annual meeting, the Illinois Association of School Boards will vote on a new position statement urging legislators to no longer allow schools to be used as polling places.

The District 203 school board discussed this issue, with members arguing for both sides.

Board member Kristin Fitzgerald could see why the current set up might be a problem, saying “We put people in different doors and we send them out different doors and we’re working our very best to put the polling places where they’re completely cornered off from our school populations. That doesn’t sound as if it’s completely possible.”

But board member Mike Jaensch thought having the polling in schools provided a valuable lesson. “Elections are our civic duty,” he said, adding, “I think it is a good example for kids to see people voting in the schools. I think we do a great job making sure it’s a secure process.”

Ultimately, the majority of the board voted to not support the Illinois Association of School Board’s proposed position because they want to leave the decision under local control.

Currently, District 203 has six schools used as polling places, four in DuPage County and two in Will.

In contrast, District 204 does not want their schools to be used on Election Day, and consequently will be closed on November 8 for student safety.

Naperville News 17’s Evan Summers reports.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

We're Hiring!

Want to be a News or Sports reporter in the 4th largest city in Illinois?

cat2array(30) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(14) [2]=> int(30) [3]=> int(15) [4]=> int(44) [5]=> int(62) [6]=> int(17) [7]=> int(195) [8]=> int(63) [9]=> int(196) [10]=> int(7053) [11]=> int(19) [12]=> int(28) [13]=> int(6494) [14]=> int(18) [15]=> int(13595) [16]=> int(13818) [17]=> int(13317) [18]=> int(32) [19]=> int(13803) [20]=> int(501) [21]=> int(33) [22]=> int(13804) [23]=> int(58) [24]=> int(2) [25]=> int(375) [26]=> int(13777) [27]=> int(13763) [28]=> int(42) [29]=> int(5) }