Representing Naperville

Naperville voters have spoken. More than 550,000 voters showed up to the polls in DuPage County on Tuesday. And in Will County, voter turnout was more than 370,000 registered voters casting ballots.

Naperville News 17 followed the local elections and has reactions from the winners and their political opponents.

Republican John Zediker joined the DuPage County Board in February 2009 to fill a seat left vacant when Republican Mike Connelly was elected State Representative for the 48th District. On election night, the two men held a joint party and celebrated their victories.

“To have the residents of District 5 elect me to another term is awesome,” said Zediker. “I’m proud of that, and thank them from the bottom of my heart.”

“They don’t want potted plants,” said Connelly. “They want people to go down there and bring a common sense approach, and don’t just stick to one side of the aisle, work with the other side and get things done. I did that the first term and I hope to do that the second term.”

Zediker took an early lead in the county board race against Democrat Brian Duewel, and finished by a decisive margin.

“It was a good learning experience,” said Duewel. “It’s something I enjoyed, it’s exhausting, but I learned a lot from it and I think that I will do it again.”

Connelly garnered more than 60 % of the vote for the 48th District. Political newcomer and Democrat Barbara Green conceded defeat.

“Well, needless to say I was disappointed,” said Green. “But on the other hand, it wasn’t anything I didn’t expect. Mike is the incumbent, he has the group behind him, he has the money, and so that’s what happens.”

It was the night for Naperville incumbents, such as State Representative Darlene Senger for the 96th District, who toppled Democrat Dawn DeSart after gaining more than 60% of the vote.

“I love what I’m doing, I’ve said that all along,” said Senger. “We have some good things going. I’m looking forward to serving Naperville and Aurora again for the next two years.”

For her part, DeSart says she will continue her work on local school issues.

“I’m happy to serve my job on the school board and I’m very content there. I’m happy to serve for District 204,” said DeSart.

With just over 60% of the vote, Republican Dan Cronin beat Democrat Carole Cheney to become DuPage County’s new board chairman. Robert Schillerstrom held that seat for the past 12 years.

On the Will County Board, District 3 serves parts of DuPage Township and Wheatland Township. Incumbent Republicans Ann Dralle and Laurie McPhillips prevailed, and current Park Board Commissioner Suzanne Hart will begin her first term as a member of the Will County Board. She will be resigning from the park board.

U.S. Congresswoman Judy Biggert won her seventh term representing the 13th Congressional District.

And in the neighboring 14th Congressional District, Republican Randy Hultgren defeated Democratic incumbent Bill Foster.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

cat2array(63) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(8) [2]=> int(14) [3]=> int(20) [4]=> int(30) [5]=> int(13588) [6]=> int(13801) [7]=> int(15) [8]=> int(21) [9]=> int(44) [10]=> int(60) [11]=> int(62) [12]=> int(12127) [13]=> int(13781) [14]=> int(10) [15]=> int(17) [16]=> int(22) [17]=> int(36) [18]=> int(195) [19]=> int(12126) [20]=> int(13759) [21]=> int(11) [22]=> int(23) [23]=> int(63) [24]=> int(196) [25]=> int(7053) [26]=> int(11961) [27]=> int(12128) [28]=> int(13) [29]=> int(19) [30]=> int(24) [31]=> int(28) [32]=> int(6494) [33]=> int(11111) [34]=> int(12129) [35]=> int(18) [36]=> int(1036) [37]=> int(6957) [38]=> int(13595) [39]=> int(54) [40]=> int(2657) [41]=> int(4101) [42]=> int(13317) [43]=> int(32) [44]=> int(2663) [45]=> int(13803) [46]=> int(1714) [47]=> int(13773) [48]=> int(501) [49]=> int(1233) [50]=> int(33) [51]=> int(1232) [52]=> int(6733) [53]=> int(13804) [54]=> int(58) [55]=> int(38) [56]=> int(2) [57]=> int(375) [58]=> int(13777) [59]=> int(13760) [60]=> int(13763) [61]=> int(42) [62]=> int(5) }