Primary Election Results

Despite a low voter turnout, Naperville residents have spoken on whom they want to see on the ballot this fall. According to the DuPage County Election Commission, just over 25% of voters headed to the polls for the recent primary.

Republicans had plenty of options to choose from on the ballot for the DuPage County Board District 5 seats this year. Seven candidates tossed their hat into the ring to claim three seats.

Fourteen-year board member James Healy walked away with more than 20% of the votes to guarantee himself a spot for the General Election, while political newcomer Tonia Khouri secured her spot on the ballot with nearly 18%.

“I worked really hard, I’m ready to start and I’m very optimistic,” said Khouri.

Current board member John Zediker pulled out a tight win against former city councilman Richard Furstenau and Naperville Planning Commission’s Vice Chair Patty Gustin.

“I’m saddened that the numbers didn’t come in the way that we were hoping for, but I really appreciate all the hard work and dedication from everyone who participated in the campaign,” said Gustin.

Lisle Trustee Ed Young came in sixth with 10.5% and Realtor Paul Santucci rounded out the seven with nearly 7% of the votes. Healy, Khouri and Zediker will go against Democratic Incumbent Tony Michelassi for the final three seats this fall.

Naperville resident Mary Lou Wehrli ousted long time Commissioner Carl Schultz as the Republican candidate for the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County race.

Wehrli walked away with more than 48% of the vote, while Schultz had 31%. Both overcame Charlie Schneider, who had nearly 21%.

“It’s humbling to have such a good turnout and have so many people believe in me and the things they feel I can bring to the Forest Preserve District of DuPage County,” said Wehrli.

“It was a wonderful experience for me,” said Schultz. “I’ve done all sorts of wonderful things, got trails built, restored the Greene Farm Barn, I’ve accomplished a lot.”

Wehrli, who served six years as a park district commissioner, will face off against Democrat Dennis Clark in November.

Will County Board Incumbents Suzanne Hart and Chuck Maher pulled out a victory against Joe Hudetz and Debra Holscher.

“It’s interesting and we learned a lot about campaigning and about campaign issues and how to get our message out,” said Hudetz.

“We look forward to doing the same kind of things that we’ve been doing on the board like keeping taxes low and everybody moving in the right direction,” said Maher.

No Democrats ran for the 11th District, meaning Hart and Maher don’t have to run again in the fall.

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 6th.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

cat2array(74) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(8) [2]=> int(20) [3]=> int(25) [4]=> int(30) [5]=> int(13588) [6]=> int(13801) [7]=> int(13803) [8]=> int(14) [9]=> int(21) [10]=> int(26) [11]=> int(39) [12]=> int(60) [13]=> int(62) [14]=> int(12127) [15]=> int(13781) [16]=> int(10) [17]=> int(15) [18]=> int(22) [19]=> int(193) [20]=> int(195) [21]=> int(12126) [22]=> int(13596) [23]=> int(13759) [24]=> int(11) [25]=> int(17) [26]=> int(23) [27]=> int(44) [28]=> int(194) [29]=> int(196) [30]=> int(11961) [31]=> int(12128) [32]=> int(24) [33]=> int(27) [34]=> int(28) [35]=> int(36) [36]=> int(63) [37]=> int(11111) [38]=> int(12129) [39]=> int(13774) [40]=> int(13) [41]=> int(19) [42]=> int(1036) [43]=> int(6957) [44]=> int(7053) [45]=> int(18) [46]=> int(2657) [47]=> int(4101) [48]=> int(6494) [49]=> int(13802) [50]=> int(2663) [51]=> int(13317) [52]=> int(13595) [53]=> int(54) [54]=> int(1714) [55]=> int(32) [56]=> int(1233) [57]=> int(1232) [58]=> int(13773) [59]=> int(501) [60]=> int(33) [61]=> int(6733) [62]=> int(13804) [63]=> int(58) [64]=> int(38) [65]=> int(2) [66]=> int(375) [67]=> int(13777) [68]=> int(7) [69]=> int(13760) [70]=> int(13763) [71]=> int(42) [72]=> int(4) [73]=> int(5) }