Election Wrap Up

The race for President wasn’t the only choice on the ballot. Residents had their attention focused on races in DuPage County after redistricting threatened to shake things up.

The eleventh Congressional district will be sending a new leader to Washington. After serving the people of the thirteenth district since 1999, Judy Biggert lost the race to represent the newly drawn eleventh district to Bill Foster. Foster took 51% of the vote compared to Biggert’s 47%. Congressman Bill Foster celebrated his win at the Holiday Inn in Bolingbrook where he defended his win. “I don’t believe in partisan redistricting, but I think I could have run this race in a variety of shaped districts. But, I think this needs to be addressed in Illinois again,” he says.

It was a tight race for DuPage County Board District Five. Three Republicans and one Democrat vied for three available seats.

In the end, political newcomer Tonia Khouri led the pack with more than 26% of the votes, securing a spot on the board. “I’m just humbled and really honored that they’re putting their trust in me, and I will take the job very seriously,” said Khouri.

Jim Healy has been on the board for 14 years. With more than 25% of the votes, he will represent Naperville for another term and is excited to continue to work to solve county issues.

The final seat went to Democrat Tony Michelassi, who had 24% of votes. He was elected in 2008. As the youngest member to ever be elected to the board, he says his experience from last term will only help him improve as a leader. “I promise that in my second term I’ll be twice the public servant that I was in my first term,” said Michelassi.

Incumbent John Zediker came in fourth with 23% of the votes. Although he didn’t get re-elected, he is satisfied with the work he’s done over the past four years.

Who who is District Five’s next representative for the Forest Preserve District of DuPage county?

Mary Lou Wehrli – that’s who. The long-time Naperville resident won the position with more than 55% of the votes.

In the March primary, Wehrli beat out two other republicans, including incumbent Carl Schultz, and won the election over Democratic opponent Dennis Clark.

All of the candidates will take office in the coming months.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

cat2array(72) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(8) [2]=> int(20) [3]=> int(25) [4]=> int(30) [5]=> int(13588) [6]=> int(13801) [7]=> int(13803) [8]=> int(14) [9]=> int(21) [10]=> int(26) [11]=> int(39) [12]=> int(60) [13]=> int(62) [14]=> int(12127) [15]=> int(13781) [16]=> int(10) [17]=> int(15) [18]=> int(22) [19]=> int(193) [20]=> int(195) [21]=> int(12126) [22]=> int(13596) [23]=> int(13759) [24]=> int(11) [25]=> int(17) [26]=> int(23) [27]=> int(44) [28]=> int(194) [29]=> int(196) [30]=> int(11961) [31]=> int(12128) [32]=> int(24) [33]=> int(27) [34]=> int(28) [35]=> int(36) [36]=> int(63) [37]=> int(11111) [38]=> int(12129) [39]=> int(13) [40]=> int(19) [41]=> int(1036) [42]=> int(6957) [43]=> int(7053) [44]=> int(18) [45]=> int(2657) [46]=> int(4101) [47]=> int(6494) [48]=> int(2663) [49]=> int(13317) [50]=> int(13595) [51]=> int(54) [52]=> int(1714) [53]=> int(32) [54]=> int(1233) [55]=> int(1232) [56]=> int(13773) [57]=> int(501) [58]=> int(33) [59]=> int(6733) [60]=> int(13804) [61]=> int(58) [62]=> int(38) [63]=> int(2) [64]=> int(375) [65]=> int(13777) [66]=> int(7) [67]=> int(13760) [68]=> int(13763) [69]=> int(42) [70]=> int(4) [71]=> int(5) }