Election Results

The votes are in! On April 9th nearly 48,000 Naperville residents cast their ballots for City Council and Districts 203 and 204 School Boards.

For Naperville City Council it was all about the incumbents. Paul Hinterlong, Judy Brodhead and Doug Krause walked away with the top three spots, securing their seat on the dais.

The retirement of Kenn Miller left one more seat open and filling that position was a close decision.

Attorney and township trustee David Wentz secured the final spot just 145 votes ahead of attorney and Planning and Zoning Commissioner Kevin Coyne.

“He and the rest of the people that ran for council were very admirable, very high quality and very high caliber,” said Wentz. “It was an honor to even be considered for this position. I’m very honored to be chosen as the fourth elected candidate.”

“It’s been one of the most exciting things I’ve ever done,” said Coyne. “It’s been a blast, we’ve all worked hard. I can’t be more pleased with the amount of support that we got. We put a good campaign forth.”

Two candidates that were hoping to change the direction of city government were unable to pull off a victory this election.

Smart Meter opponents Jo Malik and Tom Glass came in sixth and ninth out of the 11 candidates.

“It was a nice opportunity to meet with a lot of people here in Naperville,” said Glass. “First time having been through this, it was a learning experience.”

“I can’t wait for the 2015 election and I hope people paid attention to what went on,” said Malik. “There will be some significant change.”

All four council members will be sworn in for their two-year term on Sunday, May 5th.

In District 203, newcomer Kristin Fitzgerald walked away with the majority of the votes, securing one of four open seats.

“I’m really looking forward to the success of every student and working with the community to really set priorities that really ensure all our students success and our academic and financial future as well,” said Fitzgerald.

Incumbents Jackie Romberg and Susan Crotty came in second and third, serving for another four years.

“I think one of our most exciting things is our future focus,” said Crotty. “I think it will set the direction for the future. I think we have a lot of exciting things to keep us on top as a world-class district.”

Challenger Donna Wandke pulled out a victory filling the final seat.

It was two and two in District 204 as well. Incumbents Cathy Piehl and Benjamin White had the support of the voters- returning to the board for another four years.

“I think we have a great board, a diverse board, and we’ve got a lot of work in front of us. But we have great people to tackle it,” said Piehl.

Joining them will be former 204 principal Mike Raczak and newcomer Maria Curry.

“I have a passion for District 204 and its children, so it means a lot to me,” said Raczak.

Justin Karubas ran unopposed and will be serving a two-year term.

Current park board commissioners Bill Eagan, Gerry Heide, Mike Reilly and Kirsten Young will serve another four years. All ran unopposed.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

cat2array(71) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(8) [2]=> int(14) [3]=> int(20) [4]=> int(25) [5]=> int(30) [6]=> int(13588) [7]=> int(13801) [8]=> int(15) [9]=> int(21) [10]=> int(26) [11]=> int(39) [12]=> int(60) [13]=> int(62) [14]=> int(12127) [15]=> int(13781) [16]=> int(10) [17]=> int(17) [18]=> int(22) [19]=> int(193) [20]=> int(195) [21]=> int(12126) [22]=> int(13596) [23]=> int(13759) [24]=> int(11) [25]=> int(23) [26]=> int(44) [27]=> int(63) [28]=> int(194) [29]=> int(196) [30]=> int(11961) [31]=> int(12128) [32]=> int(19) [33]=> int(24) [34]=> int(27) [35]=> int(28) [36]=> int(36) [37]=> int(11111) [38]=> int(12129) [39]=> int(13774) [40]=> int(13) [41]=> int(18) [42]=> int(1036) [43]=> int(6957) [44]=> int(7053) [45]=> int(2657) [46]=> int(4101) [47]=> int(6494) [48]=> int(13317) [49]=> int(2663) [50]=> int(13595) [51]=> int(54) [52]=> int(1714) [53]=> int(32) [54]=> int(1233) [55]=> int(1232) [56]=> int(13773) [57]=> int(501) [58]=> int(33) [59]=> int(6733) [60]=> int(58) [61]=> int(38) [62]=> int(2) [63]=> int(375) [64]=> int(13777) [65]=> int(7) [66]=> int(13760) [67]=> int(13763) [68]=> int(42) [69]=> int(4) [70]=> int(5) }