And the Results are in…

Less than 20% of registered voters went to the polls for the latest local election, but the people have spoken and incumbent George Pradel will once again take the helm of Naperville. Pradel was elected over City Councilmen Doug Krause and Kenn Miller with 65% of the votes. He will become Naperville’s longest serving mayor. This is Pradel’s 5th term as mayor. He announced just before the election that this would be his last time running.

“I have four more years I’d like to serve,” said Pradel. “I’m getting old, but I do still have the enthusiasm for leading this city. As long as I can talk, as long as I can yell, as long as I can cheer for this city, I am going to do it.”

Pradel won the mayoral election by a landslide, but both candidates express interest in running again in four years.

“We’ll see what’s in four years, I have to run for council again in two,” said Krause.

“We have a few years, a lot of things could happen,” said Miller. “But, I think
I have something to offer as mayor of Naperville.”

Two incumbents and two newcomers will join Krause, Miller and the rest of the city council. Incumbent Robert Fieseler has served on the city council since 2007. He is joined again by incumbent Grant Wehrli. Newcomers Joe McElroy and Steve Chirico beat out incumbent Richard Furstenau for two of the four city council seats.

“It was a lot of effort by a lot of people. I’ll remember this all my life,” said McElroy.

“When I first got here we were in 5th place, I was thinking ‘Oh boy, it’s going to be a long night,’” said Chirico. “But I was very fortunate things pulled up when the rest of the precincts came in.”

“I just appreciate the fact that I’ve been able to serve the people of Naperville for 12 years,” said Furstenau. “I had a good run at it. I felt like I made quite a few contributions to the city. Who know what the future might bring.”

For School District 203 it was all about the incumbents. Current Board President Mike Jaensch, and members Suzyn Price and Terry Fieldon return to the board after overcoming newcomers Jay Fisher and Bethany Weeks.
Over in District 204, voters decided to re-elect Board President Curt Bradshaw, but newcomers Lori Price and Mark Rising overcame incumbent Alka Tyle.

“It feels really good. I just am happy to be a part of the board,” said Rising. “I want to thank all the candidates I ran against, we had a good campaign.”

And finally, four candidates for the Naperville Park Board all ran unopposed. Incumbents Ron Ory and Marie Todd, and newcomers Bill Egan and Rich Janor will join the rest of the Park District Commissioners.


Get daily news headlines delivered to your inbox!

cat2array(74) { [0]=> int(3) [1]=> int(8) [2]=> int(20) [3]=> int(25) [4]=> int(30) [5]=> int(13588) [6]=> int(13801) [7]=> int(13803) [8]=> int(14) [9]=> int(21) [10]=> int(26) [11]=> int(39) [12]=> int(60) [13]=> int(62) [14]=> int(12127) [15]=> int(13781) [16]=> int(10) [17]=> int(15) [18]=> int(22) [19]=> int(193) [20]=> int(195) [21]=> int(12126) [22]=> int(13596) [23]=> int(13759) [24]=> int(11) [25]=> int(17) [26]=> int(23) [27]=> int(44) [28]=> int(194) [29]=> int(196) [30]=> int(11961) [31]=> int(12128) [32]=> int(24) [33]=> int(27) [34]=> int(28) [35]=> int(36) [36]=> int(63) [37]=> int(11111) [38]=> int(12129) [39]=> int(13774) [40]=> int(13) [41]=> int(19) [42]=> int(1036) [43]=> int(6957) [44]=> int(7053) [45]=> int(18) [46]=> int(2657) [47]=> int(4101) [48]=> int(6494) [49]=> int(13802) [50]=> int(2663) [51]=> int(13317) [52]=> int(13595) [53]=> int(54) [54]=> int(1714) [55]=> int(32) [56]=> int(1233) [57]=> int(1232) [58]=> int(13773) [59]=> int(501) [60]=> int(33) [61]=> int(6733) [62]=> int(13804) [63]=> int(58) [64]=> int(38) [65]=> int(2) [66]=> int(375) [67]=> int(13777) [68]=> int(7) [69]=> int(13760) [70]=> int(13763) [71]=> int(42) [72]=> int(4) [73]=> int(5) }